Home > Oklahoma! > The Five Tribes

The Five Tribes

October 20th, 2005

The Five Tribes are five Native American nations which lived in Southeastern North America: the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole. Each of them had advanced systems of government, education and law enforcement.

In the first half of 19th century, the Five Tribes were deported from their traditional homelands east of the Mississippi and forced to settle in Indian Territory, in present day Oklahoma.

The Five Tribes remained independent until 1907, when Oklahoma Territory and Indian Territory were merged to create the State of Oklahoma.

Categories: Oklahoma!
Comments are closed.